Florida Hazmat Driver's License
Florida law requires anyone transporting hazardous materials to get a HazMat endorsement on their license. This endorsement requires a background check by the Department of Homeland Security and Transportation Safety Administration. You must fill out a DMV application and pay the fee of $91. Your application and your fingerprints will be sent to TSA for threat assessment. Once your application is received, you must apply for a commercial driver’s license.
This process is lengthy. You will be thoroughly checked to make sure you do not have a criminal background or you were not found to be insane within the last 7 years. If you pleaded guilty to any criminal charges, you will be disqualified from receiving this license.
Florida wants to keep their roads safe and this is just one part of the State doing so.